skip navigation

WBCA Names D1 Boys All-State Team

By WBCA, 03/08/13, 8:15PM CST


Kevon Looney of Milwaukee Hamilton, Deonte Burton of Milwaukee Vincent, Luke Fischer of Germantown, Nick Fuller of Sun Prairie and Austin Malone-Mitchell of Milwaukee Rufus King lead the way as unanimous selections to the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 1 All-State Team.

Looney, Burton, Fuller and Malone-Mitchell are repeat first-team picks from a year ago. 

At 6-foot-8, Looney is a long, athletic and skilled wing player who has received scholarship offers from schools across the United States, including Marquette and Wisconsin. A first-team all-league pick in the Milwaukee City Conference, Looney averaged 26.1 points per game and led Hamilton to a 22-3 record under veteran coach Tom Diener. 

Burton (6-5) is a four-year varsity performer who spent his sophomore year at Brewster Academy in New Hampshire. The Marquette University recruit earned first-team all-league laurels in the Milwaukee City Conference and averaged 17.2 ppg and helped Vincent to a 20-5 record under first-year coach Marquis Hines. 

Fischer (7-0) is the best player on the best team in the state and has played a big role in helping Germantown to 54 straight victories dating back to the start of last season. The Indiana University recruit is averaging 21.5 ppg and almost 10 rebounds per contest for coach Steve Showalter and the Warhawks, who took a 24-0 record into this weekend’s WIAA State Tournament. 

Fuller (6-7) is also a four-year varsity player who score more than 1,900 points during his outstanding prep career. The Nebraska recruit earned Player of the Year honors in the Big Eight Conference after averaging 24.9 ppg and leading Sun Prairie to a share of the league title with perennial powerhouse Madison Memorial. 

Malone-Mitchell (5-11) is a competitive point guard who played on the varsity squad at Shorewood as a freshman before spending his final three years at Milwaukee King. The son of former UW-Milwaukee guard Marc Mitchell, Austin Malone-Mitchell is averaging 20.3 ppg for a King squad that shared the City Conference title with Milwaukee Washington and heads into the WIAA State Tournament with a 20-4 record under coach Jim Gosz. 

The rest of the first team includes De Pere senior Adam Beyer, Sussex Hamilton junior Brady Ellingson, Sheboygan North senior Ethan Guske, Brookfield Central junior Riley La Chance and Oshkosh North senior Cooper Radtke.  

Beyer (6-6) is a point guard with excellent size and skill. The Augustana College recruit helped De Pere to the title in the highly competitive Fox River Classic Conference by averaging 13.3 ppg. 

Ellingson (6-4) is a dynamic wing player who can make perimeter jump shots or score off the dribble with mid-range shots and floaters in the lane. He averaged a team-best 22.7 ppg while helping the Chargers to a 20-4 record and a share of the Greater Metro Conference title with Brookfield Central. 

Guske (6-2), who will join Beyer at NCAA Division II Augustana in the fall, plays with a competitive edge and has a soft perimeter shooting touch. He averaged 22.2 ppg for veteran coach Tom Desotell and led Sheboygan North to a 20-5 record. Guske was chosen Player of the Year in the Fox River Classic Conference. 

La Chance (6-3) is a skilled combination guard who can make outside shots and get into the lane and either finish or find open teammates. He averaged a team-high 20.6 ppg while helping the Lancers to a 20-4 record and a share of the Greater Metro Conference championship. 

Radtke (6-6) shared the Player of the Year award in the always tough Fox Valley Association with Riley Vander Wyst of Kaukauna. A mobile and versatile forward who can score inside and outside, Radtke leads state-qualifying Oshkosh North in scoring at 18.3 ppg. 

WBCA D1 All-State
Adam Beyer, Sr., De Pere
Deonte Burton, Sr., Milwaukee Vincent *
Brady Ellingson, Jr., Sussex Hamilton
Luke Fischer, Sr., Germantown *
Nick Fuller, Sr., Sun Prairie *
Ethan Guske, Sr., Sheboygan North
Riley La Chance, Jr., Brookfield Central
Kevon Looney, Jr., Milwaukee Hamilton *
Austin Malone-Mitchell, Sr., Milwaukee Rufus King *
Cooper Radtke, Jr., Oshkosh North

Honorable Mention
Trevor Anderson, Frosh., Stevens Point
Lamonte Bearden, Jr., Germantown
Carson Biedrzycki, Sr., Burlington
Aaron Moesch, Sr., Green Bay Southwest
Nathan Neveau, Jr., Oshkosh North
Nick Noskowiak, Soph., Sun Prairie
Adam Pohlman, Jr., Neenah
Brevin Pritzl, Soph., De Pere
Jake Showalter, Jr., Germantown
Nathan Tanguay, Sr., Mukwonago
Luke Worthington, Sr., Homestead

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel – Jeff Boos, Sun Prairie; Scott Bork, Neenah; Jim Gosz, Milwaukee King; Jim Haasser, Mukwonago; Mike Jossie, Oak Creek; Steve Showalter, Germantown; Brian Winchester, De Pere; Dan Witter, Wisconsin Rapids. 

Tag(s): News  All-State