skip navigation

Boys Division 2 All-State Team

By WBCA, 03/14/14, 2:45PM CDT


The quartet of Seymour's Sandy Cohen, Rice Lake's Henry Ellenson, Greendale's Jordan Perez, and West De Pere's Cody Schwartz lead the way as unanimous selections to the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 2 All-State Team.

Ellenson and Schwartz are repeat selections, along with New Berlin Eisenhower's Reed Timmer.

Cohen led Seymour to the Bay Conference title and trip to the sectional semi-finals this season. The 6-6 Marquette recruit averaged a team-high 21.3 points per game for the Thunder.

Ellenson has been a dominating presence since his freshman year at Rice Lake, but has taken his game to an even higher level this season. The 6-9 junior forward displays an outstanding all-around game, averaging 27.5 points and 13.1 rebounds per contest.

Perez is the catalyst for the Greendale squad that finished 5th in the tough Woodland-West Conference but has advanced to the Division 2 state tournament. The 6-4 senior guard averages 21.5 points, 7.8 rebounds, and 3 assists per ballgame.

Schwartz, a 6-8 junior receiving plenty of recruiting attention, is a three-year varsity standout for head coach Andy Werner. A repeat All-State selection, he averaged 18.4 points and 7.0 rebounds per game for the Phantoms team that has advanced to the state tournament.

Timmer is a 6-2 senior guard that repeated on the WBCA All-State team, helping Eisenhower to an 18-6 record this season. He was among the state's leading scorers, pouring in 27.6 points per game.

Chandler Diekvoss of West De Pere teamed with fellow All-State pick Cody Schwartz to give the Phantoms one of the best duos in the state. The 6-6 senior guard is committed to Richmond, and averaged 15.8 points, 5.7 rebounds, 4 assists, and 2.3 steals per game.

Donovan Jackson led Pius XI to an outright league title in the strong Woodland-West Conference during his senior season. He shot 84.8% from the free throw line and averaged 18.2 points per contest.

Kyle Monroe of Ashwaubenon was the leading scorer in the FRCC this season, leading the Jaguars to a share of the league title. The 6-4 junior forward averaged 21.7 points per game.

Mark Nelson was the leading scorer in the Badger-South this season at 16.4 points per game. The 6-3 senior point guard led the Silver Eagles to a 17-7 overall record.

Dakota Oskey was a steady, multiyear varsity standout for head coach Jon Murphy and the Seymour Thunder. The 6-4 swingman averaged 14.7 points per game as a senior.

WBCA D2 All-State

Sandy Cohen, Sr., Seymour *
Chandler Diekvoss, Sr., West De Pere
Henry Ellenson, Jr., Rice Lake *
Donovan Jackson, Sr., Pius XI
Kyle Monroe, Jr., Ashwaubenon
Mark Nelson, Sr., Monona Grove
Dakota Oskey, Sr., Seymour
Jordan Perez, Sr., Greendale *
Cody Schwartz, Jr., West De Pere *
Reed Timmer, Sr., New Berlin Eisenhower

Honorable Mention

Levi Bradley, Jr., Pius XI
Anthony Carver, Jr., Wisconsin Lutheran
Matt Ferris, Sr., Xavier
Keith Franklin, Sr., Wisconsin Lutheran
Drew Fredrickson, Jr., Mount Horeb
Luke Murphy, Sr., River Falls
Kollin Neils, Sr., Plymouth
Joe Sherburne, Sr., Whitefish Bay
Luke VanLanen, Sr., Pulaski

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel – Dean Bellanti, Catholic Memorial; Brian Bestor, Reedsburg; Zac Campbell, River Falls; Jake Erbentraut, Wilmot; Bob Maronde, Grafton; Mike Schalow, Kaukauna; Kurt Soderberg, Merrill; Ryan Walz, Wisconsin Lutheran.

Tag(s): News  All-State