skip navigation

Girls Division 1 All-State Team

By WBCA, 03/21/14, 8:45PM CDT


Jessica Lindstrom of Superior, Arike Ogunbowale of DSHA, Kelly Smith of Arrowhead, and Frankie Wurtz of Kimberly lead the 2014 WBCA Division 1 All-State Team as unanimous selections.

Ogunbowale has been a First Team pick all three years of her career so far, while Wurtz and Tamya Sims of Oak Creek are repeat selections.

Lindstrom is a dominating force for the Superior team that is heading to a second straight state tournament appearance. A versatile 6-1 senior who will head to Green Bay, she averaged 21.6 points and 16.9 rebounds per game for head coach Phil Roe.

Ogunbowale is a three-time First Team All-State selection and could go down as one of the top players to come out of Wisconsin in some time. The 5-9 junior guard has offers from virtually every top college program in the country and led DSHA to the Greater Metro title while averaging 22.7 points, 12.2 rebounds, and 3.9 assists per game.

Smith grabbed Honorable Mention All-State recognition last year after helping Arrowhead to the state tournament, and while they fell a game short this season, she was outstanding once again. The 6-1 senior guard averaged a team-best 14.8 points per game for the Warhawks.

Wurtz has led Kimberly to an unbeaten record heading into the Division 1 state tournament, as the Papermakers have taken down some of the state's top teams along the way. The 5-8 junior guard averages a team-best 16.4 points per game and also leads them in rebounding.

Sims is back on the Division 1 All-State team after an outstanding senior season that saw her average 15.4 points and 4.2 rebounds per game. The 6-2 senior is committed to Bradley, and has helped the Knights to the state tournament for the first time since 2008.

Bre Cera is just a sophomore but is already making a big impact and has even committed to play at Green Bay. In helping Mukwonago to a second straight state tournament appearance, the 5-10 guard averages 13.3 points per game.

Shakeela Fowler was a key figure as a freshman when Milwaukee King advanced to the state title game, and has developed into a team leader. Helping King to the Milwaukee City-Gold Division title, she averaged 17.4 points per game with more than 4 assists and steals per contest.

Taylor Hodell led D.C. Everest to an outright conference title in the Wisconsin Valley, averaging 17.3 points per game. The 6-3 junior forward also added 8.6 rebounds and 2.7 blocks per game for the Evergreens.

Kontny is the floor general for the Superior Spartans as they make a return trip to the Division 1 state tournament. Averaging 19.5 points per game, the 5-9 senior guard dished out more than 4 assists per contest as well.

Stephanie Kostowicz teams with fellow senior Tamya Sims to give Oak Creek the state's top interior duo. Also a 6-2 D1 recruit who will play at Milwaukee next year, she averaged 13.9 points and a team-high 7.5 rebounds to help the Knights to the state tournament.

Lydia Rohde has connected on 58 three-pointers while shooting 49.2 percent from long range as Brookfield Central advanced to the Division 1 sectional finals. The 5-foot-10 guard is averaging a team high 13.3 and 4 assists per game for head coach Dan Wandrey.

WBCA Division 1 All-State

Bre Cera, So., Mukwonago
Shakeela Fowler, Jr., Milwaukee King
Taylor Hodell, Jr., D.C. Everest
Hailey Kontny, Sr., Superior
Stephanie Kostowicz, Sr., Oak Creek
Jessica Lindstrom, Sr., Superior *
Arike Ogunbowale, Jr., DSHA *
Lydia Rohde, Sr., Brookfield Central
Tamya Sims, Sr., Oak Creek
Kelly Smith, Sr., Arrowhead *
Frankie Wurtz, Jr., Kimberly *

Honorable Mention

Linley Achtenhagen, Sr., Kettle Moraine
Amelia Grahn, Sr., Madison La Follette
Natisha Heideman, Jr., Green Bay Southwest
Alison Hughes, Jr., Janesville Craig
Liz McMahon, Sr., Middleton
Jasmin Samz, Jr., Wausau West
CJ Usadel, Sr., Sheboygan North
Amani Wilborn, Jr., Milwaukee Riverside

Voting Panel – Troy Cullen, Kimberly; Jeff Kind, Middleton; Phil Roe, Superior; Kerry Storbakken, Janesville Craig; Niki Sutter, Oshkosh West; Dan Wandrey, Brookfield Central; Scott Witt, DSHA; Rick Witte, Arrowhead.

Tag(s): News  All-State